top of page

As a First Generation Student

As a first-generation Japanese-American incoming freshman, I couldn’t ask my parents for resources on college life because college life in Japan is very different from American colleges. In addition to that, I’m an only child so I didn’t have any older siblings to rely on for advice. My freshman year in college was a “guess and check” process. My guesses were letting myself get carried away with spending time with friends and practicing for my dance team until 4am. My checks were realizing that maintaining my grades aren’t as easy as I thought it was in high school especially because college students have to keep track of my own studying schedule. Sacrificing my time towards extracurriculars and school led to skipping meal and sleeping at irregular schedules. I forgot to self-care and ended up being in constant fatigue and stress. So, in the beginning of my first year, I wish I knew that it’s okay to say “no” to hangouts when I’m overwhelmed with other things. I wish I knew how to plan a to-do list with time stamps on them and actually follow them. But even through all the stress I’ve dealt with all year, I don’t regret any of my experiences that came with it. I’ve matured more than ever and I’ll forever be glad of the friendships and knowledge I’ve gained from the choices I’ve made –good or bad.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page